An Interview with Author, Alan Wynzel

Hello Everyone!  Today I have the honor of introducing all of you to my dear friend, Mr. Alan Wynzel, author of the memoir, When I Was German.

 

41-URvd8qoL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

NOW AVAILABLE

 

Thank you for joining us here today, Alan.  I was wondering, what inspired you to write When I Was German?

Thank you, Danica.  It’s a pleasure to be here.  I wrote my childhood memoir When I Was German because I needed to understand what really happened in my home when I was a child and what it all meant.  I had been seeing things all along through my mother’s eyes but I had to find my own perspective in order to better understand myself and my mother and father.

What was the first thing you ever wrote and how old were you?

I worked on a WWII “novel” in the 6th grade about a German soldier.  It was called “Hard Core Veterans”.  I remember very clearly that I wrote 63 pages and then stopped.  I never finished.  I wish I still had it.

What other writing have you done?

Before the memoir I attempted a few sci-fi novels along with a fictional novel and a few short stories.  Let’s just say they were practice works….

What are you working on at the moment?

Right now the only creative writing I’m doing is laying down an occasional poem on my poetry blog as the spirit moves me.  Marketing my memoir is taking up much of my free time.  I do have a new novel I completed this year, The Seventh Round, a “fictionalized” account of my experiences in the recent Great Recession about losing my job, going broke, losing a major love, and going off the deep end.  A bit of a horror story.  I plan on publishing The Seventh Round in 2014 once my memoir is better established.  And I have another novel in my head, waiting to be written, a story about a hopeless love affair.  Yet another horror story.

Who are your favorite authors and why?

Charles Bukowski:  For telling the truth, and telling it well, and for writing readable poetry.

Hemingway: For his mastery of brevity.

Vonnegut: For his humor in the face of despair.

Cormac McCarthy:  For his masterful style and elemental themes.

George Orwell:  For speaking the truth about power and oppression and for giving us 1984.

Do you have any advice for other indie authors?

If it doesn’t come from your heart, don’t write it.  Don’t try to write something to cash in on a trend.  Don’t copy other writers—find your own voice.  And edit.  And edit again.  And again.

How do you overcome writer’s block?

“Writer’s block” doesn’t concern me because I don’t believe in the concept of writer’s block.  If the words are in me, I will write them.  If they aren’t, I wait until they come.  If anything, I have “Life Block”, where I struggle to find the time to put the words down when they demand release.  Not the same thing as writer’s block.

Where can people purchase your book?

Amazon.com is the best place:      http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FM254KM    If you don’t have a Kindle, you can download Amazon’s Kindle for PC for free.  My book is also available at Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, and iBooks.  Links can be found on my writing blog.

Tell us about your website/blog. What will readers find there?

My writing blog has memoir excerpts, a few short stories, and a few excerpts from The Seventh Round, and anything new and exciting about my memoir as it occurs.  Also, links to purchase.  I also have a poetry blog; I found myself in the mood to write some poems, just for the hell of it, and to keep my writing skills honed.

What is the best and the worst part of the writing process for you?

The best part is when I get it right—whether it be a sentence, paragraph, chapter, or the entire book.  When I read what I wrote and know, this is it—this is how it should be.  And, given that I’m an incredibly harsh self-critic, this doesn’t come easy, but is all the more rewarding when it does.  The worst part is when life interferes with the writing and I lose my flow—this is very frustrating.  Having said that, if there was no life to interfere, I wouldn’t have anything to write about.

Alan, thank you so much for joining us today.  Please do come back again and keep us up-to-date with your writing projects.

The pleasure’s all mine, Danica.  Thanks for having me.

About the Author:

199bf384ccc20a82390a93.L._V354460067_SX200_

I was born and raised in Morristown, NJ.   The years I spent there in a home on Lake Valley Road shaped my life and my writing, which began there, when I was 11. My childhood memoir, When I Was German, tells that story.  Now, at 49, I’m still writing. I’m divorced, have two teenaged kids, and was out of work for almost 2 years in the Great Recession.  I’ve been writing about that, too.  A novel, The Seventh Round, that I will publish soon, tells that story.  And another is in the works.  I’m most prolific, and adept, at telling my own life story, whether in memoir, or fiction.  Like Hemingway said, write what you know.
Connect with Alan Wynzel:

http://avoicefromlakevalleyroad.blogspot.com/

http://poemsfromelmstreet.blogspot.com/

Twitter @alanwynzel  https://twitter.com/alanwynzel

About Danica Cornell:

DSC00834

Danica Cornell is the author of the forthcoming DARK STAR Sci-fi/Fantasy Series, soon to be published by Cool Geek Books. To learn more about Danica’s work, her love of dogs, and her support of UNICEF, please visit her website at www.danicacornell.com.

DARK STAR I The Assassins (2)

Danica is a proud member of the RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB.

Book Club Badge Suggestion copy

8 thoughts on “An Interview with Author, Alan Wynzel

  1. Great interview! I loved your approach on writer’s block Alan – you are so right! Authors tend to refer to this phenomenon as the plague but it’s natural really. We lead busy lives and have our good days and our bad days. Uunlike our characters, we are real people in the real world who have to tend to family, visit doctors, do the food shopping and pay our taxes. I expect if we lived alone on top of a castle, the creative juices would never stop flowing LOL

    • I keep telling my loved ones I need to go on a writing retreat. Either that or I’m going to build a tiny one room cabin on the back of my property, just like J.D. Salinger! Lol. 🙂

      • Another option is chase everyone away for a few days and go on a “writing binge”. That’s if you can write for hours and hours on end until you’re done. Not easy. I do recall that Ken Kesey wrote “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” in 36 hours. But that was fueled by LSD, allegedly. Reading it, I don’t believe it…it’s too good. He may have written it in 36 hours but I guarantee he spent a lot more time editing it.

    • Nicholas, yes, and oh to have a “patron of the arts” to pay the bills so we can sit back and do our thing…would be great, right?

Leave a Reply

