Introducing Author, Nonnie Jules’ “Daughters: The Good and The Bad” Blog Tour

Please join me in extending a warm welcome to my friend, the lovely and talented Nonnie Jules, author of THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS and Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend. 

Hello, and welcome to “Daughters:  The Good and The Bad” Blog Tour.  First, I’d like to thank Danica for inviting me over and kicking off this tour.  It’s running for ten days and if you’d like to follow the tour, please do so here http://wp.me/p3sUCq-KA.

Let me introduce myself.  My name is Nonnie Jules as you may have noticed when you walked thru the door and I’m a resident of a small town in Louisiana.  I am the mother of two wonderful daughters, adult and teenager, and husband to one wonderful man.  I also am “NaNa” to a host of 4-legged babies, who I all love just as much as my 2-legged ones.

Image

My first published work is entitled THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”, 100 Tips on Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!  It was published in May, 2013.

My debut novel is entitled “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend and it was recently released at the end of November, 2013.

Image

Becoming a published author for me was very exciting!  Especially since writing my first book only took me 17 days.  I didn’t have to do any research because I had lived every tip in the book.  I had taught every tip in the book, if not to my own daughters, to someone else’s daughter who had crossed my path.  Shall I share that it t’was very easy penning this book?   I enjoyed every moment of putting it together, every 102 pages of it.

Then, I decided I wanted to write a novel, and of course, it would also be about my favorite topic…daughters.  Well, I shouted to the world that my novel would be released  ON AUGUST 22, 2013!  Little did I know that this wonderful, pint-sized book, would not be released until a full three months later.

I know you’re wondering why it took so long to release after the original release date.  Well, to put it honestly, I didn’t know it would be such hard work.  I soon came to realize that this baby was going to require a lot more than my non-fiction, how-to guide had.  I had to travel.  I had to  do TONS of  research.  I went without sleep, food and water just to get this book out into the universe.  I had to edit (a whole lot more closely than I had with my non-fiction guide) and then I had to re-edit, and re-edit some more.  This book took a lot out of me.

It is always important to me that I share my experiences with others, especially “newbies” who are just entering the field of writing.  Sometimes, the pressures are just so much that you might feel like giving up, and just quitting all together.  I am here to tell you to keep going.  Keep at it, until you get it right and until it feels second nature to you.  My novel caused me tons of sleepless nights and in honor of full disclosure, it also caused me a few tears as well.  But in the end, I was so proud of this great work I had put out (yes, it’s great in my eyes).  And when it was all finished, I was extremely proud of every single 370 pages I had put into it.

I found there to be a big difference in writing my non-fiction piece of work as opposed to my fictional novel.  You will not view this journey as I had because you will more-than-likely have to do research for your book, unless of course, you’re writing one that you actually lived, just as I had.

I found that creating characters, places and entities entailed a lot more than the research I could get from the internet.  I had to go to the city I was writing about and I spent  countless days getting to know it as well as every entity and establishment mentioned in my book.  Why?  Because I wanted it to be as believable as possible and to me, that’s a sign of a true writer.  The pizza parlor mentioned in my book…yes, I ate there and IT IS the most awesome pizza in all the land!  So, if you find that you can pen a book without the research and it’s still a good read, I say “go for it!”  But, more than not, you probably won’t be able to get away from it.  So for me, the difference between writing my non-fiction guide and my fictional one, was all about the time it took to pen it, and the amount of research I had to put into it.  But whatever it ends up being for you, just give it your best and that’s all the readers want from us…our very best!

I’d like to thank you all for letting me share with you and as mentioned above, I hope you will follow each stop on the tour.  I am giving away a “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend” Swag Pack and also two $5 Amazon Gift Cards to 3 lucky winners.  All you have to do is leave a comment here before you leave.  If you visit each stop on the tour and comment, you will earn 1 entry for each comment left.  The more you enter, the better your chances of winning.

I invite you to check out my writing on my blog (which is extremely interesting all the time!) at www.nonniewrites.wordpress.com and I ask that you follow me as well.  I can be found most days on Twitter supporting my fellow authors while promoting my own work @nonniejules.

It’s Christmas time and books make the perfect gifts. If there is a new mom in your world or you have a friend or family member with young daughters, why not gift them a copy of “THE GOOD MOMMIE’S GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”?  You may get copies from www.amazon.com/dp/B00CP62O56 or autographed copies from www.nonniesbookstore.com .  Please know  that this guide is helping to change the world for the better.  “Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend” would also make a perfect gift for an avid reader in your life.  Get your ebook copy at www.amazon.com/dp/B00GLM2VVM.  Paperback copies will be ready for purchase on Amazon, Createspace, B&N.com and at Nonnie’s Book Store (autographed copies) by Thursday, 12/5/13.

Danica, thanks once again for having me and I wish you all much Peace, Love and Great Reads!!!

You are very welcome Nonnie…I’m delighted to have you and hope you come back and visit us again soon.  

8 thoughts on “Introducing Author, Nonnie Jules’ “Daughters: The Good and The Bad” Blog Tour

  1. Thank you for sharing about your books Nonnie. For authors like me who are now starting on the journey of self promotion, hearing the accounts of others and all about their chosen strategies is the best training (and encouragement!) one can possibly have. I will be following your tour, not so much for the possibility of winning a freebie, but because I am really eager to learn from my peers. I will add that the content of all your stops on the tour sounds really exciting and I am loooking forward to hearing all you have to share. Best of luck with the tour and your books!

Leave a Reply

