Hello and Welcome!

Image

Hi everyone!  I thought it appropriate to introduce myself on what I’m referring to as my latest online adventure.  I use the word adventure because for whatever reason, the WordPress platform has always intimidated me–even though I’ve built several websites and created numerous book trailers over the years.  Ah, but I digress…

My name is Danica Cornell, and for those of you who haven’t heard of me (which is most of you), I’m the author of the forthcoming DARK STAR Science Fiction/Fantasy Series. If you Google me, you’ll probably find that I’m all over the place.  This is important for indie authors, or so I’ve been told.

But here’s the thing…

The straight-up truth is that I actually enjoy social networking.  Chatting with my Twitter and Facebook friends is dare I say fun–and I’m even getting the hang of Pinterest now, (I think).  I know…but the good news is that I eventually get around to everything.  Even better is the fact that I’m willing to get out there and give it a whirl, right?

The irony is that over the years I’ve read God knows how many articles about the amount of time today’s authors spend on the “dreaded” marketing aspect of this business.  In some cases, it’s up to 90%!  And while I’m not exactly sure where I fall, my guess would be on average I’m closer to 70% (more lately, but this is something that fluctuates). Earlier on it was probably around 50%.

Once I reflected on my own social networking, something occurred to me.  This means I get to spend most of my time engaged with readers and writers.  The remaining hours are dedicated to creating (and editing) my imaginary world, not to mention all the research that goes into such an undertaking. Put another way as an author in today’s high-tech society, I get to be a social butterfly and a thinker and dreamer.

Do I know how to pick careers or what?  🙂

Until next time…

Happy reading,

Danica

P.S. I would like to cordially invite you to visit my website at http://www.danicacornell.com/ where I’m holding a Name That Robot Contest…go on check it out…it’s fun!  Contest ends December 15, 2013.   

For those of you on Twitter, please join me @DanicaCornell.  

Leave a Reply

